Group Voted to Approve Grants to 25 Organizations Serving the Community

(MEDFORD)—Through the City’s Community Fund Committee, twenty-five nonprofits that serve the Medford community have been awarded over $230,000 in grant funding to be used to expand services, resources and outreach, Mayor Breanna Lungo-Koehn announced.

Upon forming the committee in September, the application process was open until October 30th. Every applicant that applied identified areas where funding would be most effective and outlined the reasoning for why this grant would help their organization support the community. All twenty-five nonprofits that applied were awarded funding.

“The work being done by these nonprofits is critical to supporting our residents and by providing this funding the awardees will be able to make adjustments and improvements to their operations that will lead to more meaningful and engaging experiences for the community,” Mayor Breanna Lungo-Koehn said. “Thank you to our volunteer committee members for their guidance and help reviewing the applications and assessing where this funding would have the most impact.”

Congratulations to the following organizations who have been awarded grant funding:

  • American Legion Post 45
  • Arts Collaborative Medford, Inc.
  • Baden-Powell Service Association of Mystic Valley, Inc
  • Brooks Elementary School PTO
  • Chapters Coffee Carts Corp
  • Congregational Church of West Medford (DBA) Sanctuary UCC
  • Federation for Children with Special Needs
  • GU Institute of Earthquake Prediction
  • Kesem at Tufts University
  • Looking Back at Medford History Inc.
  • Mcglynn Elementary PTG
  • Medford Chamber of Commerce
  • Medford Community Chorale
  • Medford Educational Foundation
  • Medford Farmers Market
  • Medford High School Alumni Association
  • Medford Historical Society & Museum
  • Missituk Elementary School PTO
  • Mystic Valley YMCA
  • Roberts Elementary Parent Teacher Organization, Inc.
  • Saint Raphael’s Food Pantry
  • Temple Shalom
  • The Center for Citizenship and Social Responsibility
  • TreesMedford
  • Waypoint Adventure, Inc.

The Community Fund Committee was initially created as part of the Surrounding Community Agreement between the City of Medford and Wynn, MA LLC (Encore) and was tasked with determining the best utilization of the annual Community Fund Payments received by the City.

The Committee is responsible for reviewing financial requests and awarding funds to qualifying organizations throughout the City. The Committee consists of: Mayor Breanna Lungo-Koehn, City Councilor Justin Tseng, School Committee Member Melanie McLaughlin, Ludovino Gardini, Arun Rajendran, Myrlande Paul, Erin Murphy Rafferty and Kevin Wentworth.